how do you do it?!?!?!

this was originally written in sept 2012… I will post an updated version soon

 

 

I get asked this at least once a week… here and off line… people who knew me and haven’t seen me in a while… people who see me at the gym… random people I meet online… my patients and their families (when we start to talk about weight loss)

 

there are always two answers to that question… the simple one and the not so simple one 😉

first the simple one… eat less and move more… that’s it… in a nutshell 🙂

for the not so simple one… weight loss is basically a mind game… when I first started… I recorded every bite I ate/drank…. I also had a pedometer… I logged every step…. for two weeks I didn’t make any changes…. then I averaged cals and steps… my first goals were 3500 calories (which was a cut of 200/day from what I averaged) and 1500 steps… (which was an increase of 200 steps/day from what I averaged)

this I did for 2 weeks… then I changed by 200… 3300 cals and 1700 steps… for two weeks…. then I changed by 200… 3100 cals and 1900 steps… I did this for a while continuing to change and increase steps and decrease cals little by little…

fast forward… I moved cross country… left my husband… went back to school… graduated (a single mom of three… two with special needs) while working at least 2 jobs and very active in my school community… then got a job worked for a year (very stressful)… lost my job… was unemployed for six months… then got a new job which I LOVE… and now a broken foot… I have had pneumonia once… sinus surgery…. multiple other illnesses…

I spent a lot of time focusing on maintaining… I had gotten down to 270 went back to 300 (never as high as my highest of 340)…. but each of these things used to be an automatic gain 20# sort of situation for me…

I got serious again this august… (had been maintaining at 270 since may) and 27 aug I broke my foot… I decided that I am going to continue the calorie restriction and do as much as I can (sitting on the couch with my foot up)

I also have changed the way I make goals… when I first started I made ” 8# a month lost ” goals… I always failed… and then I binged… and then I gained… and I never went down… now I don’t care (not totally) what the scale says… the scale is only ONE indicator of my health…  for about a year now I make fitness goals… my goals have progressed over the course the last year….

see this blog post for an idea of how I make goals http://www.myfitnesspal.com/blog/Jennfrye/view/goal-setting-426608

 
I also make calorie goals… eating under my cals… (or within 100)…

 

there has also been a lot of self analysis as to the root causes to my eating… I never put something in my mouth mindlessly… I always evaluate “why”… why am I hungry… am I hungry? am I just thirsty/bored/annoyed/upset/depressed/<insert emotion here>? I try to address the issue at hand and only eat for reasons of true hunger…. and I wait until I feel hungry to eat… (I know the current guidelines suggest eating at specific set intervals to avoid hungry… but eating when I wasn’t hungry is part of why I got to be 340#!)

I feel like I wrote a book… but like I said… there is a simple answer and a not so simple answer… it all boils down to the same thing… and it is all a mental game… and babysteps 😉

 

we didn’t get to *this* shape over night and we won’t get to *that* shape overnight

Leave a Reply

