I lift heavy things… and put them down… repeatedly

wrote this blog post originally in SEPT 2012 while recovering from a broken foot ūüôā

 

 

I love going to the gym… ok let me rephrase that… I hate going to the gym… it is horrible… I never can find the energy… I never wake up and think “oh my that would be just the most perfect start to my day” I always think “oh good lord it’s gym day :grumble:”… I usually make myself go though…

but I love¬†LEAVING¬†the gym… it is the most amazing feeling… I feel strong and :dare I say it: sexy! and like I can tackle the world!… ¬†and now that I have been on the couch the last month with a broken foot… I miss it… I wish being upright didn’t make my foot hurt so bad because I would find a way to get there… I have this cool kneeling walker that I put my bad leg on and push with my good leg… if it didn’t hurt so bad I would push my happy little but down there!

So why do I want to strength train???

1) It makes my prefered workouts easier. I like to hike. I like to bike. I like to hike up mountains and go over big rocks. My favorite hike so far (and one that makes me feel most like a beast) is Old Rag here in beautiful Virginia. ¬†http://www.hikingupward.com/snp/oldrag/. The first time we did this hike it took me 14.5 hours… the second time just 7.5… why? because I did tricep and arm work and weighted squats and weighted lunges and other things in the gym to make it easier to climb.

2) it can help me not lose bone density as I grow older. Osteoporosis runs in my family. I am a nurse. I have seen what happens to little old ladies who have the osteo… it isn’t pretty… it is even less pretty when the BIG old ladies have it… (“strength training increases bone density and reduces the risk for fractures among women aged 50-70.”* I am only 35… but I will be 50… and sooner than I want to be!)

3) I can eat more. Lifting heavy things means that I will (eventually) have more lean muscle mass. Which means that when I become my svelte goal self I will have more calories to maintain it. I like to eat. I like to eat a LOT. The idea that I will have to make do with just a few calories depresses me! “Strength training can provide up to a 15% increase in metabolic rate”*

4) It helps my balance! I noticed on top of that mountain that I was able to do a lot more. Could be because I was working out and felt a lot better. But I didn’t feel as uneasy and unballanced as I did the year previously. Studies show that exercising regularly and adding weights can help with balance!

5) it helps my mood… I don’t know if it is just being stuck here on my couch that it nutsing me drive… (or driving me nuts… however you want to look at it)… but I miss the gym… I miss the cardio… I miss moving and lifting and feeling strong… I feel like such a lazy bum right now… I want to move and go!! *”Strength training provides similar improvements in depression as anti-depressant medications.”

6) It helps me at work. I am a nurse and I just love it that I can work with the male CNA or the other male nurses in my unit and they are impressed with the way I can move a pt… we can safely move even the heavy ones because weight lifting has made me strong! and I feel safer assisting people one on one because I am stronger. (NOTE: I only do things safely and if I am the least bit concerned about the safety of myself or my patient I ask for help)

 

for resource check out this site I never like to quote body building sites for reasons why you should body build… that is like asking a bakery why you should eat baked goods… but I went to the CDC to get facts for this post¬†http://www.cdc.gov/physicalactivity/growingstronger/why/index.html.¬†¬†(facts in quotes with * all come from this article)

 

so… join me! Women don’t have the testosterone to get all uber bulkey unless they take special supplements and super train. Professional body builders have to make that their lifestyle. The normal woman won’t bulk up like that…

 

who’s with me?

Leave a Reply

