how do I make a goal?

this post was originally written in Oct 2012

 

I got asked this question the other day… and since one of my goals in october is to write in my blog every day I figured that I would walk you through my goal setting process… 

The first step for me is to decide what I want to work on… so I want to spend more quality time with my kids… and I want to work on my physical stuff… and I want to work on my blog and my book and and and and and and… and a million things that everybody else wants to do….  I like to make SMALL adjustments to my life… because making big changes (in my past) has always led to failure… so I pick between 8-10 things that I want to make a goal and head to step 2

So this is what my list looks like at this point:

1) daily calories

2) push up program

3) superman stretch

4) blogging

5) my book

6) devotions with my kids

7) personal devotions

8) quality time in prayer

the second step for me in setting a goal is to determine where I am… a good goal is a lot like a gps… it will help you get to where you want to go… but it can’t do it… can’t help you get to where you are going unless it knows where you are… so I want to work out a physical goal like pushups… if I decide I want to do 500 pushups in a row this month that could be a good goal… but what if right now I can only do 5 pushups… then that isn’t a very realistic goal… so I have to evaluate where I stand on those 8-10 things… so I go through my list and write down where I currently am

which makes my list look like this:

1) daily calories – 2090

2) push up program – roughly every 2-3 days or (sept 18, 19, 21, 24, 26, 29)

3) superman stretch – 0 but I can do planks very well

4) blogging – 0 but I am stuck on the couch with nothing else to do

5) my book – 0 but I am stuck on the couch with nothing else to do

6) devotions with my kids – 0 but I am stuck on the couch with nothing else to do

7) personal devotions – inconsistent – but I am stuck on the couch with nothing else to do

8) quality time in prayer – inconsistent – but I am stuck on the couch with nothing else to do

The third step is to take that list and figure out how far I think I can push it… I don’t like to make goals that I know I will not be able to meet… because that depresses me and I tend to consider myself a failure and not even try at the next goal setting event because *obviously* I am a failure so why should I bother to make goals?? So I look at my list and try to set a goal that is reachable if I push hard

So my list now looks like this:

1) 2000 calories or less per day

2) work on push up program at least 13 times (about every other day)

3) superman stretch x 60 mins (in the month)

4) a blog post every day

5) brainstorm for my book (and write 3 chapters… 1 week for brainstorming and one week per chapter)

6) devotions with my kids every day

7) personal devotions every day

8) quality time in prayer every day

 

I then make (or find) myself some sort of tool to track my goals… because what good is a goal if you don’t know if you did it or not?

Who’s with me? Do you want to make some goals? Now is a good time… but you don’t have to wait until the beginning of the month or the beginning of the week… you can make a goal on Wednesday the 15th… because every day is a good day for a new beginning.. and today is as good a day as any!

Leave a Reply

