Who wants to start a revolution?

this was originally posted in Nov 2012

 

 

This is a follow up to “blubber” I have been thinking about this a lot lately… and I tend to think in music 😉 so this post is going to use some lyrics to help me get my point across… and just so none of you think I am actually nuts I don’t think that the artists are writing to me personally, but I do believe they speak to me and to my soul 😉

 

This is what I have been thinking about… “I long for a day when the men and women of this world embrace their beauty, and understand that they are loved. That there is one who loved them enough to DIE for them, to save them. He created them to love themselves and to love others. THERE IS NO CONDEMNATION IN CHRIST! (Rom 8:1) that means NONE. Stop condemning yourself over your body and your actions. STOP hating yourself because you aren’t the shape you want to be. STOP hating yourself because you don’t look the way that you think you should look. STOP hating others because they don’t look the way you think they should look.”

 

Arlo Guthrie wrote one of my favorite songs. Some of the versions I have heard are over twenty minutes long. He wrote it to protest the war (Vietnam) but I think that it works here to protest the self-hate that we seem to propagate and push off on ourselves and others.

 

“And the only reason I’m singing you this song now is cause you may know somebody in a similar situation, or you may be in a similar situation, and if your in a situation like that there’s only one thing you can do and that’s walk into the shrink wherever you are ,just walk in say “Shrink, You can get anything you want, at Alice’s restaurant.”.  And walk out.  You know, if one person, just one person does it they may think he’s really sick and they won’t take him.  And if two people, two people do it, in harmony, they may think they’re both faggots and they won’t take either of them. And three people do it, three, can you imagine, three people walking in singin a bar of Alice’s Restaurant and walking out. They may think it’s an organization.  And can you, can you imagine fifty people a day, I said fifty people a day walking in singin a bar of Alice’s Restaurant and walking out.  And friends they may thinks it’s a movement.”

 

So imagine with me for a minute the impact we can have. If we reach out to one person, JUST ONE person a day, and we tell them that we are proud of them and that they are beautiful; imagine how that person would feel. So then if each of those people reached out to one person, how many people could we impact? But more, if we reached out to three people a day, and each of those three people reached out to three people and simply told them that we are proud of them and that they matter and are important to us and that they have beauty beyond compare? At the end of the day we could start a movement!

I have 111 friends on mfp at the time of this writing. If each of you reached out to 3 people, at the end of the day we would positively impact the lives of 333. And if each of those 333 reached out it would be 999. If each of those reached out and told just three people how beautiful they are that would be 2997. Do you see the cascade? It could be more than a movement, we could start a revolution!

 

Tracy Chapman tells me that revolution sounds like a whisper. We can start a revolution. We are a people of inertia. Until we change, we will remain the same. Change does not come easily to us. Personally I do not want to stay in this same rut of self-hate and destructive behaviors. I want to feel beautiful. I already KNOW that I am beautiful, but I want to feel it! But I think more than anything else, I want YOU to know it. Dear friends, you are beautiful and you are loved and you are awesome and I am so proud of you.

 

One woman changed history by not moving from her seat. One man changed history by questioning the doctrine of the catholic church. One man changed history with a dream. How many times throughout history has one person had an idea and used it to change history? I know that my idea is not unique. I want to change the world. I want the women of this world to understand who they are, and how beautiful they are.

 

Who’s with me? Let’s love each other. Let’s not condemn, we can start with today. But let’s not condemn for a lifetime. One day at a time. Let’s start a movement. Let’s start a revolution. Let’s change the world. Let’s change the hearts of women everywhere!

 

“Finally the tables are starting to turn, Talkin’ bout a revolution”

 

 

I am talking about a revolution!!

Leave a Reply

