Greek-ish stuffed peppers

First off, I have decided that if I am going to take pictures of my cooking in order to blog about it, I have to keep a cleaner kitchen.

Secondly, For a recipe to make it into my “must make often” category it must be simple and not have a zillion ingredients and be fun and taste awesome.

This is one of my staples, I make it about once a month (and considering that when I make it I make enough of it to eat it for a week, that says a LOT about this recipe) .

Filling

2 pounds beef (or a mixture of beef/lamb/bison or whatever)

chopped jalepenos (to taste I used about a cup)

1 c flax seed meal (acts as a binder, you can sub bread crumbs if you want)

3 eggs

a medium sized bag of frozen chopped spinach

1 pkg feta cheese

spices (I use minced onions, garlic, cumin and cayenne pepper)

(I also used 5 slices bacon because I had it)

Peppers for stuffing –

I used 8 large peppers and 2 poblano peppers

Sauce

2 large cans diced tomatoes

1 can tomato paste

1 small can chopped olives

Spices – minced onions, garlic, cayenne pepper, and “pizza seasoning” (which is oregano, basil, rosemary, thyme)

Procedure

Brown the meat until thoroughly done.

I added the jalepenos at this point. Before the meat was all the way done.

Then I add the spices. I usually eyeball/guestimate based on what we like flavorwise.

Then add the cheese and eggs and spinach. Mix it all well. I usually let it sit for 20-30 minutes to let the flavors mingle.

Prepare the peppers for stuffing.

Slice the tops off, put them in the pan. I made bacon in this pan earlier, so rather than oiling the pan I just used it as it was. Bacon grease is AWESOME!

 

Make the sauce.

Put everything in a bowl (or food processor).

Blend. I use an immersion blender. I LOVE it. The longest part of this is to open all the cans.

This made enough sauce for this recipe (and I use a LOT of sauce in it!) and enough to have some for the kids to make french bread pizza tomorrow. Most people don’t like to use as much sauce as I do so plan on having some left over.

This is the point where I stuff the peppers. Then I spoon some sauce over the whole thing making sure that the tops are well covered.

 

bake at 350 for an hour.

This photo is after cooking. I usually serve 2 peppers with a LOT of sauce and a salad so this makes about 5 servings for me.

2 thoughts on “Greek-ish stuffed peppers

  1. Pingback: trail food – stuffed peppers – first try | alienjenn

  2. Pingback: Bulk cooking… the ins and outs in my house | alienjenn

Leave a Reply

