Fill your backpack

 

That’s my empty backpack. There’s nothing in it. Big surprise eh? An empty bag has nothing in it?

Let me back track for a little bit first though.

I struggle. LOTS.

I struggle with the things I say to myself. I struggle with the things I say about myself. I struggle with being NICE to myself. But most of all, I struggle with forgetting God’s promises when I am in a mess.

I believe things. I believe that God has a plan for me. But sometimes (ok a LOT of times) when I am in the middle of a situation I tend to just think about what’s going on instead of what God tells me about it.

I believe that God is in the healing business. But sometimes (ok most times) when I am broken or sick instead of remembering that God heals and WANTS me healed I dwell on the pain.

 

I have been talking to a friend about this for many years. About how I KNOW that God heals, but I spend so much of my life in pain. How I KNOW God heals but I spend so much time sick. How I KNOW God loves me and cares for me but I FEEL unloved. How I KNOW that God has a plan for me but I still feel lost. I still feel depressed.

 

Many years ago I was talking to a friend (actually we have been talking about this FOR many years) and he made the comment about your mind being like a backpack. I didn’t think about it for ever and I don’t remember the rest of the conversation. A few weeks ago when I was on the trail I sat down and thought to myself “I’m tired and frustrated and I feel like crap and I really want some chocolate covered espresso beans.” God said to me, “well it’s a good thing that you put some chocolate covered espresso beans in your backpack so you could take them out huh?”

 

And the conversation with my friend poured into my head. I can only take OUT of my backpack what I put IN to it. I can’t take out chocolate covered espresso beans unless I have put them in.

 

Seems kinda silly huh? I can’t have those beans, if I don’t put them in there. Also, if I don’t make them easily accessible? I can’t get to them quickly.

See them there in the front pocket? If I buried all kinds of crap on top of them I would have a difficult time getting to them. This all makes sense!

 

So why did it take me forever to “get it”?

And what does all this mean?

I suppose it means that I have to put the stuff IN my pack that I want to take out.

 

Deuteronomy 11:18 NIV

Fix these words of mine in your hearts and minds;

tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads.

Teach them to your children,

talking about them when you sit at home and

when you walk along the road,

when you lie down and when you get up.

 

So how do I do this?  How do I “fix these words of mine in your hearts and minds”??  That’s as easy as it is confusing.

 

The basic idea is the I need to spend more time in the word. Speak it. Hear it. Read it.

 Romans 10:17 NIV

Consequently, faith comes from hearing the message,

and the message is heard through the word about Christ.

 

I typed this in response to someone’s thread on NF…
“being sick HAPPENS…. failing doesn’t make you a failure…  awesome is as awesome thinks”

like…. WOAH!!

think about it… awesome IS as awesome THINKS

I suppose you could also say awesome thinks as awesome speaks since the power of life and death are in our tongues. .. and we can be transformed by the renewing of our minds

So to THINK differently we have to SPEAK differently

Proverbs 18:21 NIV

The tongue has the power of life and death,

and those who love it will eat its fruit.

I know what I need to do. I now know what this means.

Romans 12:2

but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.

The basic idea is the I need to spend more time in the word. Speak it. Hear it. Read it. Spend time with God. I need to put things into my backpack so that I can get them out. I need these things to be in my readily accessible pockets and not buried under mountains of “junk”.

I need to spend more time in the word. Speak it. Hear it. Read it.

Leave a Reply

